Purple Primer VS. Clear Primer?

Potatoes last one shot, so build reusable! Discuss ammo designs and ideas. Tough to find cannon part or questions? Ask here!
motorfixer1
Private 4
Private 4

Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:15 pm

So, I was browsing one of the sites that advertises on here, as well as sells launchers and related items the other day. Across the bottom of the page there was a comment written about ugly purple primer stains and that they use only clear primer because they know what they are doing. I will not name the site because they donate for advertising space but I'm reasonably sure that you all can figure it out for yourselves.
I have been fitting PVC for many years and only have used purple primer for a few reasons:
1. It is reasonably priced and readily available in gallon containers.
2. It is dyed at the factory for a reason, to ensure the amount and coverage are sufficient.
3. Clear primer is solely meant for construction use, I.E. furniture, vacuum lines, ventilation, etc. where the coverage and distribution of primer is not critical.

I recently spoke with an aquantence of mine that installs repairs and maintains water purification systems in all sectors of municipalities and industry, and has been a licsenced pipe-fitter for almost 30 years. He had only heard of clear primer during training courses and that the use of it was most certianly not recommended for joints that carry any sort of water pressure. He said for the trouble of finding clear primer and the risk of using it he would not even think of gluing a single joint with the stuff!

I have to agree that the stains that purple primer leaves behind are most certianly unsightly, however any competent pipe-fitter can solvent weld joints without slopping the stuff all over.

Food for thought?
Technician1002
Captain
Captain

Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:25 pm