Possible AC Scroll Compressor Conversion?

Meaningful discussion outside of the potato gun realm. Projects, theories, current events. Non-productive discussion will be locked.
User avatar
Gun Freak
Lieutenant 5
Lieutenant 5
Posts: 4971
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:38 pm
Location: Florida
Been thanked: 7 times

Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:37 am

Hey guys, back again :D

I was recently able to acquire an old AC compressor, the big scroll kind. It's a Copeland and apparently its real expensive new... but anyway, I'm wondering if anyone has ever used them successfully as air compressors. Doing google searches really only turns up car AC compressors.

The only downside is that this is a 230 volt compressor and it is missing the starting cap circuit... But if it's worth converting I may just shell out for the necessary electronics and find a way to give it 230 volts. I'm sure there's a 230 volt outlet somewhere at my house.

Appreciate any input! Thanks :)
OG Anti-Hybrid
One man's trash is a true Spudder's treasure!
Golf Ball Cannon "Superna"M16 BBMGPengunHammer Valve Airsoft SniperHigh Pressure .22 Coax
Holy Shat!
User avatar
mark.f
Sergeant Major 3
Sergeant Major 3
Eritrea
Posts: 3570
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 11:18 am
Location: The Big Steezy
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Donating Members

Fri Jan 29, 2016 5:38 pm

As far as I know, most refrigerant compressors are scroll compressors, if that answers your question. :D

Your house should have at least one 220v outlet. If not: http://www.askmediy.com/how-to-install- ... lt-outlet/
User avatar
Gun Freak
Lieutenant 5
Lieutenant 5
Posts: 4971
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:38 pm
Location: Florida
Been thanked: 7 times

Sun Jan 31, 2016 6:08 pm

Interesting, I was under the impression that fridge compressors were single acting piston compressors... Thanks for the info though, hopefully I already have one somewhere!
OG Anti-Hybrid
One man's trash is a true Spudder's treasure!
Golf Ball Cannon "Superna"M16 BBMGPengunHammer Valve Airsoft SniperHigh Pressure .22 Coax
Holy Shat!
User avatar
ToasT
Private 4
Private 4
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 2:23 am
Been thanked: 3 times

Sun Jan 31, 2016 7:23 pm

I think the ratio of scroll vs reciprocating compressors comes down to number of fridges vs number of heat-pump/air con units.
Scrolls are used in heat-pumps/air-conditioning units where the temperatures don't need to be dropped as far in refrigerators. Refrigerators use reciprocating piston compressors to achieve the higher pressures required. As always, I'm sure there are exceptions. Both will be fine at pumping air though.

I have a small scroll compressor out of a heat pump dryer, but it has a capacitor that is a bit too small for it.

Comparing my scroll to my reciprocating, the scroll has a more steady and higher air flow rate and it feels like it draws a stronger vacuum. Above 100psi there is a noticeable decrease in the rate of pressure increase in whatever is being filled, maybe due to the capacitor? But this lines up with what I understand from industry.

My findings could be specific to the examples I have, best of luck getting yours working.
wdr0
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 12:46 am

Mon Feb 01, 2016 10:49 am

I actually have used a 240v compressor from a central air unit for filling my large cannon. With 120 psi going in it will put out 300psi at a pretty high flow and be under the current rating. Im sure you could produce higher pressures especially for short periods. Mine has no seperate start cap, it has one cap that stays in the circuit all the time for starting and running. If you can find what size cap to use and don't need that high of a pressure they seem to work well and provide much more flow than a fridge compressor. As far as the 240 just get a dryer cord, and fused switch and put some probably 10a fuses in it.
User avatar
Gun Freak
Lieutenant 5
Lieutenant 5
Posts: 4971
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:38 pm
Location: Florida
Been thanked: 7 times

Tue Feb 02, 2016 12:35 am

Thanks for that! I'll have to look up a spec sheet for it an find out what cap to use. Dryer cord sounds pretty simple as well! Cheers :occasion5:
OG Anti-Hybrid
One man's trash is a true Spudder's treasure!
Golf Ball Cannon "Superna"M16 BBMGPengunHammer Valve Airsoft SniperHigh Pressure .22 Coax
Holy Shat!
User avatar
Zeus
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 1505
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: 'Straya, C*nt

Fri Feb 05, 2016 4:00 am

I've always had success with any old start cap I find, starting under no load it's really non critical.

If you can find the current or wattage, you can usually eyeball what cap you need.

Need the high pressure for a new hybrid eh?
/sarcasm, /hyperbole
jimmy101
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
United States of America
Posts: 3177
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:48 am
Location: Greenwood, Indiana
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times
Contact:

Fri Feb 05, 2016 3:31 pm

wdr0 wrote:As far as the 240 just get a dryer cord, and fused switch and put some probably 10a fuses in it.
And remember that in a 240V circuit both wires are hot.
Image
User avatar
ToasT
Private 4
Private 4
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 2:23 am
Been thanked: 3 times

Fri Feb 05, 2016 11:46 pm

If you find the spec sheet for the compressor it will say if it needs a start or a run capacitor. If running for a long time on a wrong sized run capacitor I think you run the risk of burning out the windings.
User avatar
Gun Freak
Lieutenant 5
Lieutenant 5
Posts: 4971
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:38 pm
Location: Florida
Been thanked: 7 times

Sun Feb 14, 2016 11:44 pm

Zeus wrote:Need the high pressure for a new hybrid eh?
Not quite :D

Thank you all for the input, once I get it home during a break I definitely want to try it out!
OG Anti-Hybrid
One man's trash is a true Spudder's treasure!
Golf Ball Cannon "Superna"M16 BBMGPengunHammer Valve Airsoft SniperHigh Pressure .22 Coax
Holy Shat!
Post Reply