First hybrid blew up, with video!

Harness the power of precision mixtures of pressurized flammable vapor. Safety first! These are advanced potato guns - not for the beginner.
motosk8er2
Private
Private

Mon Oct 21, 2013 8:16 am

Hello everyone, first let me say a few things. I have been building cannons for almost 10 years. I consider myself to be pretty knowledgable of pnuematics and combustion cannons. Recently I decided to explore the world of hybrids, and having never built one I did tons of research. I wanted to use steel pipe but its hard to come by and expensive where I live. I saw quite a few people using pvc for theres and at much higher mixes than I planned to use so I decided to use pvc and ease into it. I proceeded to put together a cannon, not pretty but just to test some things out. After it was built I did about a dozen shots at 1x 2x and 3x with no projectile and hiding behind a blast sheild. All was good so I then tried a few shots with potatoes at 1x and 2x and about 5 shots at 3x. Everything was going fine and I was getting confident that the cannon would not rupture so I did away with the blast sheild. I went to fire one last shot at 3x before I put it away for the day, and also decided to record it. For some reason the cannon exploded violently this time. It seemed several times as powerful as my other 3x shots. I was about 15 ft away and some how everything besides me was hit with shrapnel. I even found shrapnel in my neighbors yards several hundred feet away. The blast felt like a punch to the head/chest, and left me disorientated and without hearing for a while. I do not plan on building another hybrid any time soon. I am putting this up as a cautionary tale. Im not sure what exactly went wrong but I could have been easily killed, and I do not want this to happen to any fellow enthusiasts of this hobby. Any ideas of what could have gone wrong? It seemed 10 times as powerful as any other 3x shot I had done, which makes me wonder if the propan