GGDT/HGDT Request Thread

A place for general potato gun questions and discussions.
Atattack
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 8:33 am

Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:26 pm

I think this is a pneumatic ?, not a GGDT ?
User avatar
Gun Freak
Lieutenant 5
Lieutenant 5
Posts: 4971
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:38 pm
Location: Florida
Been thanked: 7 times

Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:41 pm

Atattack wrote:I think this is a pneumatic ?, not a GGDT ?
I'm very well aware.
OG Anti-Hybrid
One man's trash is a true Spudder's treasure!
Golf Ball Cannon "Superna"M16 BBMGPengunHammer Valve Airsoft SniperHigh Pressure .22 Coax
Holy Shat!
User avatar
MrCrowley
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10078
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:42 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Been thanked: 3 times

Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:48 pm

Thanks for the PM Atattack, but I have merged your second topic with this one again because chamber:barrel ratio questions are best answered by GGDT outputs. With pneumatics, there never really has been a general consensus on C:B ratios although some people may suggest particular ratios that generally work well.

The best way to figure out the dimensions of your cannon is by using GGDT.

At the beginning of this topic I wrote "Any topics asking things like what size chamber/barrel they should have on their cannon or how powerful their cannon may be, will be merged here for someone to compute an output for them". It is just easier if all similar topics are merged here since they all use GGDT to some degree.

Cheers :)
User avatar
mark.f
Sergeant Major 4
Sergeant Major 4
Eritrea
Posts: 3627
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 11:18 am
Location: The Big Steezy
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Donating Members

Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:03 pm

This is just a slight niggle, but GGDT/HGDT should work on nearly all operating systems, either on Windows natively or in WINE.

As has been mentioned countless times, run it with administrator privileges on Windows Vista and above for it to operate correctly.

If you have a Mac, Hackintosh, or run Linux, install WINE with MacPorts on Mac, and with your default package manager on Linux.

After installed, browse to your "Drive C:" directory (usually /home/{your_username}/.wine/drive_c), and extract the GGDT and HGDT directories here.

Then, go here to get MSVBVM60.DLL, which should be extracted to the "{drive C directory}\windows\system32" directory. You can also copy the DLL from a working Windows installation.

After that, simply open a terminal in the GGDT or HGDT directory and type in "wine (h/g)dt.exe" to start.

So far, I haven't had any problems running on Debian.
Attachments
Only annoying thing is the axes aren't labeled.
Only annoying thing is the axes aren't labeled.
ggdt.png (17.84 KiB) Viewed 26984 times
User avatar
Lockednloaded
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
United States of America
Posts: 1566
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:38 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Been thanked: 6 times

Tue Sep 06, 2011 9:20 pm

2.5" x 10" tennis ball barrel
1" x 8" chamber
2oz tennis ball with a CD of about .6

Valve:
valve type - generic
# of valves - 1
Flow Coef. - 5
Seat Diam - 0.75 in
Open Time - 20 ms
Dwell Time - 999 ms
Dead Vol - 1 in3

Can I get screenshots at 200, 300, and 700 psi?
I love lamp
User avatar
D_Hall
Staff Sergeant 5
Staff Sergeant 5
United States of America
Posts: 1918
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 7:37 pm
Location: SoCal
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Donating Members

Wed Sep 07, 2011 12:01 am

jackssmirkingrevenge wrote:This raises an interesting question, maybe D_Hall can weigh in on the matter - does GGDT assume this friction only until the projectile starts to move, or along the whole time the projectile is in the barrel? If it's the former case, it could be used to simulate the addition of a detent to the system...
GGDT assumes that level of friction until the projectile starts to move. Once the projectile starts to move, the level of friction is cut in half and this new value is used the whole time the projectile is in the barrel.
Simulation geek (GGDT / HGDT) and designer of Vera.
User avatar
Technician1002
Captain
Captain
Posts: 5189
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:10 am

Wed Sep 07, 2011 12:29 am

Atattack wrote:So wouldn't a solenoid valve remain open until the gas vents the chamber so wouldn't it be the same as a burst disk for this?
Some solenoid valves will re-close when the chamber is small and the pilot flow is too low. This can result in the pilot pressure being high in relation to the rapidly dropping chamber pressure. The most common evidence of this is when a sprinkler valve honks as it closes, opens, closes, etc.
Most modified sprinkler valves do not have this issue. It is the reason to modify one.

A big difference between a sprinkler valve and burst disk is the flow path when open. The sprinkler valve has much more restriction to fast flow than an open straight pipe.
User avatar
Crna Legija
First Sergeant 2
First Sergeant 2
Posts: 2333
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 5:14 am
Location: australia

Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:35 am

For Lockednloaded. IDK how tight they are in the barrel so I just left it at 0.5
Attachments
700.JPG
300.JPG
200.JPG
'' To alcohol... The cause of, and solution to, all of life's problems.”
--Homer Simpson

Add me on ps3: wannafuk, 8/11/11 cant wait
User avatar
Lockednloaded
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
United States of America
Posts: 1566
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:38 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Been thanked: 6 times

Wed Sep 07, 2011 9:52 pm

Thanks a bunch,
well its a very tight barrel, but those numbers look very low compared to what im actually seeing... I'm getting a 6s hangtime when i fire straight up at about 300psi
I love lamp
User avatar
Technician1002
Captain
Captain
Posts: 5189
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:10 am

Thu Sep 08, 2011 12:00 am

With a higher valve CV, and chamber size, you should be able to get a much longer hang time. The shot below was launched at just under 100 PSI. A 2 inch chamber will hold 4X the air of the 1 inch chamber. A 2 inch valve can be fitted to the 2 inch chamber for a higher valve CV.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s0l5t7D0FDM
High-PSI
Specialist 2
Specialist 2
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 7:43 pm
Location: Nothern Illinois

Sun Nov 13, 2011 2:04 pm

Hey Guys,

Since day one, I have not been able to get GGDT to run. I have loaded on three separate computers. It absolutely, positively, will NOT run. I have spent hours trying to get the files to unzip and open to no avail.

Is there any hope?

I am running Vista on my main computer and 7 on my netbook.

I am at my whits end.

Matt
Exotic E-bike builder, air cannon builder, and overall crack-pot. ;~)
User avatar
Labtecpower
Sergeant 3
Sergeant 3
Eritrea
Posts: 1297
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 6:38 am
Location: Pyongyang
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Sun Nov 13, 2011 2:06 pm

Have you tried right click> run as admin?
High-PSI
Specialist 2
Specialist 2
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 7:43 pm
Location: Nothern Illinois

Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:15 pm

OK, thanks LOADS!

I right clicked on every file and finally came up with one that had "Run as administrator" selection. It works! Man, I owe you a lunch! :)

So, a couple questions, then;

Tank inner diameter and outer diameter. What does that mean? It cannot mean wall thickness of tank. I assume it means maximum tank diameter and the diameter of the tank is it enters the valve? Is that correct? These numbers drastically affect the output. So, I am curious about that.

Matt
Exotic E-bike builder, air cannon builder, and overall crack-pot. ;~)
User avatar
jackssmirkingrevenge
Five Star General
Five Star General
Posts: 26179
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:28 pm
Has thanked: 543 times
Been thanked: 321 times

Donating Members

Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:17 pm

High-PSI wrote:Tank inner diameter and outer diameter. What does that mean? It cannot mean wall thickness of tank. I assume it means maximum tank diameter and the diameter of the tank is it enters the valve? Is that correct? These numbers drastically affect the output. So, I am curious about that.
It refers to a coaxial layout, where it would be inner diameter of the chamber and outer diameter of your barrel. In your case, with an inline layout, inner diameter should be zero.
hectmarr wrote:You have to make many weapons, because this field is long and short life
User avatar
Labtecpower
Sergeant 3
Sergeant 3
Eritrea
Posts: 1297
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 6:38 am
Location: Pyongyang
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:36 pm

OK, thanks LOADS!
No problem, I haven't found out myself :wink:
Man, I owe you a lunch! :)
MOAH FOOD! :D

You can send it to the Netherlands :P
Post Reply