Nerf Air Restricter like Piston Valve

A place for general potato gun questions and discussions.
GoldGolfBallGun
Private
Private
Australia

Thu Aug 06, 2020 11:55 am

Hello Spudders,
Please excuse my ill knowledge of the website - First post (however onto forth cannon so I have some experience)
I have searched what I could with no success, not quite sure how to word it to begin with, the title is the best I can do.
- Basically have a spring retained valve within and inline with the barrel between the chamber and projectile.
- The spring should be strong enough to resist chamber pressurization.
- Once ignited the pressure will overcome the spring, allowing for a flash, boom and a spud (Golfball) downrange.

This is obviously very simplistic and would've been tested before but I could not find any documentation.

Does this work?
Or does the piston valve cause more resistance negating the benefits of a pressurized chamber?

I do not own the machinery necessary to deal with Rupture Discs or chamber piston valves.

Thank you all!
So excited to be here.
Moonbogg
Staff Sergeant 3
Staff Sergeant 3
United States of America

Fri Aug 07, 2020 5:19 pm

These types of cannons generate high pressures and have to consist of strong metal construction. PVC or any other plastic will explode.